Science

My Heat Shield Project

 

One thing I enjoyed from an outside class was my heat shield project in science class. This was one of my favorite projects because I got to expand my learning in heat and demonstrate how I can use objects to protect an egg from heat. This project started with my group designing a diagram of what objects we could use to protect the egg. Then we started testing different materials with a heat gun to see if we could actually use them. We came up with our final idea and brought it outside to do the final test against a blowtorch! If it cooks then we fail, but if it is raw we will win. After 2 minutes against the blowtorch it was…… RAW! My group was so happy we won and it was a great learning experience. 

2 Comments on Science

  1. Mr. Harris
    March 7, 2023 at 4:16 pm (1 year ago)

    Connor,

    This is a super cool project that you clearly enjoyed. Anything with a blowtorch sounds fun! I’m impressed that yours maintained the “raw” status — that is impressive. I wonder how many heat shields, other than yours, were successful? Your group used a unique combination of ingredients. This makes me think about the designing process that must go into creating rockets that will travel to space.

    I hope there are many more great learning experiences to come.

    ~Mr. Harris

    Reply
  2. Mr. Robbins
    March 8, 2023 at 5:39 pm (1 year ago)

    You worked so hard on this project, Connor! I’m glad that you are proud of what you accomplished. I also appreciate that you included your egg-celent diagram showing us egg-xactly how your shield was built!

    Reply

Leave a Reply